The universe arrived in the post

Having only fairly recently (in the last year) started backing games on Kickstarter it was great to take my first delivery of a Kickstarted game yesterday. The game is ExoPlanets, where you create a new solar system, placing planets and then developing life on them to gain creation points.

Look at what turned up!
Look at what turned up!

I was excited to see what was inside, and quickly opened it to find the game with all three expansions carefully packed on top. I’m going to leave the expansions safely wrapped up for now so that my husband and I can get to grips with the base game.

The game and expansions were all present and correct.
The game and expansions were all present and correct.

On ripping the shrink wrap off and opening the box I had a moment of panic where I thought I’d accidentally ordered a Polish version of the game, but all was well, the English (and German) rules and reference cards were included underneath (I’ve safely stowed the Polish and German bits under the insert just in case I ever need them).

On opening the box
Three languages arrived – not just Polish thankfully!

I love the petri dishes (probably because I’m a chemist) and enjoyed looking through all the components and matching them up with the rule book. Interestingly the rule book says the player colours are green, purple, orange and white, however I don’t have any white pieces – mine are a very vibrant yellow.

I was a little sad though that my insert was bashed, it seems like it is a little too big for the box and that that had caused it to crumple at the edges.

Everything was safely stowed inside.
Everything was safely stowed inside.

I spent a while punching everything out, the planets and space tiles were easy to remove, but some of the small effects tokens ripped slightly when I was trying to remove them, which is a bit of a shame. I then bagged everything up so it would be ready for a 2-player game. This solved the problem of there being too many energy markers to fit in the petri dish, I put 10 of them into a baggie so that they can just be tipped onto the sun ready to play.

All sorted out for a 2-player game, now to find a time to play...
All sorted out for a 2-player game, now to find a time to play…

So now all I need to do is persuade my husband to play it with me…

I'd love to hear what you think...

